Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Lists and describes federal publications (primarily 1976- ) and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. (See next tab for pre-1976 documents.)
You know you're going to use it, so use it efficiently: add site:.gov (site colon dot gov) to your keywords to limit searching to government websites. You can also limit searches to a specific department's or agency's website, such as site:dhs.gov (site colon dhs dot gov) to find only results from the Department of Homeland Security.
Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more. (Replaces the FDsys website.)
GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
Lists acronyms and abbreviations commonly used by the United States federal government. Each is defined and links to the home page (or best alternative) of the identified entity.
Guide to U.S. Government Publications (Andriot)
Traces depository publications through agency changes and assigned SuDoc numbers. Entries include title, publication history, ISSN, frequency of distribution, short descriptions, and notes about changes. Provides agency, title, and keyword in title indexes. The "Agency Class Chronology" traces the history of all agencies current or defunct. (Print only.)
Offers access to a vast number of publications from all three branches of the federal government. Search across collections from this main page, or click on a collection link to browse titles.
A federated search engine that searches multiple federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while linking to selected resources available online.
United States Government Documents Registry (HathiTrust)
The Registry is intended to include item-level metadata for the comprehensive corpus of U.S. federal documents produced from 1789 to the present.
United States Government Manual
This official handbook of the federal government describes programs and activities of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and federal boards, commissions, and committees. (Historical editions to 1935 available via govinfo.)
Official portal to government information and services provided by the federal government.
- Congressional and Federal Government Web Harvests
Since 2006, the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) has harvested Congressional web sites at the end of each Congress. They also did a wider harvest of federal websites for the 2004 Presidential transition.
An archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report).
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Not specific to government publications, but offers access to digital content from a number of partners including the National Archives, HathiTrust, Internet Archive, Government Publishing Office, Library of Congress, and more.
Searchable collection of primary source documents uploaded to DocumentCloud. Includes many government-related documents requested via FOIA.
- End of Term (EOT) Web Archive
Captures and saves U.S. government websites at the end of presidential administrations. EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008, 2012, and 2016.
- Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Web Archive
To provide permanent public access to federal agency web content, the FDLP harvests and preserves select federal websites.
- Fish & Wildlife Service National Digital Library
Access text documents, images, audio, video, and map files.
Digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history. Includes several titles that provide access to historical statistics.
- Google Books
Includes government documents, as well as other items. To focus a search to government publications, try adding "Government Printing Office" or "G.P.O." in the publisher field.
Provides electronic copies of thousands of federal government documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act.
This large-scale digital repository is generally a first-stop resource when looking for older government documents. (See also the U.S. Federal Documents Collections page.)
- Internet Archive GovDocs
Collection of federal government documents. See also the FedLink collection and the End of Term Web Crawls.
- Law Library of Congress
American Indian constitutions and legal materials, military legal resources, serial set, piracy trials, United States treaties, and more.
- Library of Congress Web Archiving
The Library has been archiving select born-digital web content since 2000. Their collection includes, but is not limited to, federal government information.
- The Memory Hole 2
Saves and preserves important documents that have been, or are at risk of being, deleted from government websites.
- National Archives
Access to a large and varied collection of documents. Not all items are available online. Search the library catalog for specific titles; results will include links to online material if available.
- National Agricultural Library
Access to a wide variety of historical Department of Agriculture publications.
- National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps.
- National Transportation Library
- National Security Archive
Non-governmental archive of declassified U.S. documents. Founded by journalists and scholars to fight government secrecy.
- NOAA Collections
Coral Reef Database System (CoRIS) Coral Data & Publications Catalog, National Marine Fisheries Service's Voices Oral History Archives, Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection, National Sea Grant Library publications, and National Weather Service Heritage documents.
- TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
Collection of technical reports published by federal agencies.
- University of North Texas (UNT) Libraries
Access to a large number of digitized documents, arranged in several distinct collections.
- Wayback Machine
Captures and preserves websites, including federal government websites. Search by URL.