R I C H A R D S O N L I B R A R Y C E L E B R A T I N G 8 0 Y E A R S I N T H E F D L P
Hours for Spring 2021
Hours for the rest of the semester to be announced later.
Monday - Thursday
9am to 10pm
9am to 5pm
Saturday to Sunday
10am to 5pm
Online Reference Services available Monday - Friday
9am to 9pm
Richardson Library and its antecedents have served as a Federal Depository Library for 80 years. The Federal Depository Library program was instituted to facilitate research and greater public awareness about the government and its proceedings. The total amount of information produced by the Federal Government is expansive and includes things like statistics and information collected on a wide range of subjects, scientific reports, descriptions of the culture and history of the Untied States, laws passed by Congress, regulations administered by government agencies, Supreme Court decisions, public papers of the Presidents and much more.
Originally this information was transmitted through printed documents, but since the advent of the digital revolution, much more government information is now available electronically.
Much of research in social and natural sciences utilizes information collected by the government. Government information can serve the humanities as well, especially though the Library of Congress, National Art Museums and the Smithsonian Institute all of which have extensive digital collections concerning historical figures and all areas of the Liberal Arts.
Use this guide to help navigate your way through the resources available to you as a member fo the Morgan Community.
The items below have recently been added to the Government Documents Collection:
(Call number, title.)
Updated 9 Dec. 2020.
From the Library of Congress;
"African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors, though some were written by others on topics of particular importance in African-American history. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, Emanuel Love, Lydia Maria Child, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington, among others.
The 800 + titles in the collection include sermons on racial pride and political activism; annual reports of charitable, educational, and political organizations; and college catalogs and graduation orations from the Hampton Institute, Morgan College, and Wilberforce University. Also included are biographies, slave narratives, speeches by members of Congress, legal documents, poetry, playbills, dramas, and librettos. Other materials focus on segregation, voting rights, violence against African Americans, the colonization of Africa by freed slaves, anti-slavery organizations and investigative reports. Several of the items are illustrated with portraits of the authors.