Federal Government Documents and Information

Contents:

• Print Resources 
• Online Resources
• Lower Court Resources

Last update : 16 August 2025

Richardson Library has Supreme court decisions from 1946 (v. 330) to most recent.  It takes about five years for the printed volumes to be distributed.

Supreme Court decisions

Government Documents Collection | Ju 6.8:

U. S. Tax court Reports 

Government Documents Collection | Ju 11.7:

Other Court Documents:

Tax Court Memorandum Decisions: vol. 1 (1942) to vol. 107 (1998)

Reference Collection | KF 6324  .A 513x

Supreme Court Reporter:  vol. 1 (1882) - vol. 107 (1986)

Reference Collection | KF 101 .S 9x

Federal Reporter, 2nd Series vol. 1 - vol. 930

Reference Collection | KF 1056 .S 9x

• United States Reports 1781 to 1990 (via GovInfo.gov)

Direct URL : https://www.govinfo.gov/app/collection/usreports

• United States Reports 1991 to present (via the U. S. Supreme Court)

Direct URL : https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/USReports.aspx

The cases of the Supreme Court of the United States are published officially in the United States Reports. The volumes are compiled and published for the Court by the Reporter of Decisions. A volume of the United States Reports also usually contains a list of Justices and officers of the Court during the Term; an allotment of Justices by circuit; announcements of Justices’ investitures and retirements; memorial proceedings for deceased Justices; a cumulative table of cases reported; orders in cases decided in summary fashion; reprints of amendments to the Supreme Court’s Rules and the various sets of Federal Rules of Procedure; a topical index; and a statistical table summarizing case activity for the past three Court Terms.

• Supremecourt.gov  The Home page of the Supreme Court  Here you can find:

Opinions

• Opinions of the Court A compendium of the Courts most recent final decisions

• Opinions Relating to Orders are opinions by individual justices who disagree with a decision not to hear a case.

• In-Chambers Opinions are decisions by individual justices regarding their respective circuit.

• Case Citation Finder locates the official court citation.

Oral Arguments

• Oral Argument Transcripts contain text records of court proceedings from 1968 to present

• Argument Audio recordings of court hearings from 2010 to present.

Case Documents

• Docket Search contains information about cases, both pending and decided, that have been filed at the Court since 2001.

• Orders by the Court contains decisions on whether or not an application to hear a case has been selected.

• Granted/Noted Cases cases that have been selected for hearing.

• Journal a summary of the daily proceedings of the Court.

Decisions  Browse District and Appellate Court Decisions