Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Coronavirus Updates: Click here for the status of library operations and how to access resources & services remotely

Beulah M. Davis Special Collections: Past News & Notes

Documenting the African American experience in Maryland through the contributions of the Morgan State University community. Since its creation the Davis Room now includes a growing section of manuscripts, University Archives, rare books, and artifacts.
Dunnaville program cover page

Mitchell-Quarles Black History Month Convocation
Clarence M Dunnaville, Jr., Esq.
Feburary 6, 2020, 11:00 am
University Student Center Theater, Morgan State University
Convocation Program

The Davis Room is celebrating African American History month with the new convocation unbound. The format is a conversation with Morgan alums, our 2020 personality was Clarence Dunnaville Morgan Class of 1954. He wrote an essay to share his thoughts about the impact Morgan experience had on his life and future career. In spring 1954 Dr. A.J. Walker took Dunnaville and other classmates to the U.S. Supreme Court to hear Thurgood Marshall argue Brown vs. Board of Education. Enjoy his thoughtful essay by clicking here.


The Davis Room recently hosted its Fourth Annual Indie Authors Day!! This is a national event in concert with libraries to celebrate the written word by independent authors and publishers. This year we hosted a Morgan professor, Morgan alum, Motivational speaker and Newly minted author - who will share their inspiration, process, success and pitfalls of moving their dreams into printed form.

 

Indie Author's Day 2019 [left to right] Sir Charles Cary, Professor Kimberly Collins, Mrs. Violet Staley and Morgan Alum Tarik Moore. These authors shared their path and passion for writing with an engagement audience of students and staff. There books will be available in the Davis Room. If you would like to be considered for Indie Author's Day 2020 please contact us at davis.room@morgan.edu


Upcoming Events

The Davis Room is hosting its Fourth Annual Indie Authors Day!! This is a national event in concert with libraries to celebrate the written word by independent authors and publishers. This year we will host a Morgan professor, Morgan alum, Motivational speaker and Newly minted author - who will share their inspiration, process, success and pitfalls of moving their dreams into printed form. So come out and learn from those who are penning their thoughts for anyone and everyone interested in knowing about "their story". We look forward to seeing you!! DATE: October 8, 2019 TIME: 1:30p to 4:00p LOCATION: Earl S. Richardson Library, Beulah M. Davis Room 322

The Davis Room is hosting its Second Annual Harold T. Pinkett Day!! This event is a national event in concert with all archives around the United States. October is American Archives Month--an opportunity to join forces to raise awareness about the value of archives and archivists. DATE: October 24, 2019 TIME: 11:00a to 3:00p LOCATION: Earl S. Richardson Library, Room 322


The Davis Room is excited about partnering with the Banneker-Douglass Museum in its year long celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Maryland Commission on African American History and Culture.  The Commission on African American History and Culture was the first nationally established ethnic commission dedicated to exploring the history, culture and contribution of a designated population.

The Commission was formed through the scholarship and legislative action of Morgan State University personalities. Historians Dr. Benjamin A. Quarles and Dr. Roland McConnell framed the historical contributions of African Americans to Maryland. Dr. Quarles served as the first chairman of the Commission and Dr. McConnell served as the second chairman.  The Honorable State Senator Verda F. Welcome, Morgan alumnae class of 1939,  crafted the legislation within the state government to make the academic claims have state-wide appeal. 

In celebration of this collective effort the Banneker-Douglass Museum is hosting an exhibition: Verda's Place from April to December 2019. A number of objects and artifacts from the Davis Room's Verda Welcome collection are featured in the exhibition. The online catalog provides a glimpse into the exhibition's items. Verda's Place Exhibition Catalogue.

©2018 Morgan State University | 1700 East Cold Spring Lane Baltimore, Maryland 21251 | 443-885-3333 | Privacy | Accessibility