Dr. Diggs at her desk, March 29, 1957
The Ellen Irene Diggs Collection documents the travels and academic life of Dr. Diggs, a protege of W. E. B. DuBois and African American Sociology professor. In collaboration with the HBCU Library Alliance supported by multi-year funding from the Mellon Foundation, 752 items of correspondence, photographs, and university and miscellaneous documents have been digitized and cataloged in the Davis Room.
|
DIGITIZED COLLECTIONS Diggs Collection Writings Diggs-Toya Collection Jean - Ellen Irene Diggs Correspondence Diggs Collection Newspaper Clippings |
Diggs Shorthand Notes Organization Affinity Photos
Diggs Jean Correspondence Diggs Lock Lair Correspondence Diggs Recommendation Letters Diggs University Docs Diggs Scribe Video Center Correspondence Diggs Collection Scanned Photographs |
As his student, protege, secretary and friend, Dr. DuBois and Dr. Diggs maintained an avid correspondence over the years. This gallery displays a sample of their writings. Dr. Diggs is pictured here with Dr. DuBois and Dante Bellagarde in Port Au Prince, Haiti, 1944.
Dr. DuBois offers Dr. Diggs a position as clerk of the Sociology department at Atlanta University, 1932.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
Dr. DuBois writes a letter as receipt to Dr. Diggs documenting and enclosing three weeks of pay for her positions as clerk in 1933.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
Dr. Diggs accepts Dr. Dubois' offer of a clerk's position in the Atlanta University Sociology Department, 1936.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
Dr. Dubois writes with dismay about Dr. Diggs' absence. He has not heard from her and was expecting to do so.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
Dr. Diggs answers and Dr. DuBois' inquiry about her absence. She has successfully completed her quest to obtain books.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
Dr. Diggs presents a two-page extended itinerary for Dr. DuBois upcoming travel.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
Dr. DuBois provides his departure and arrival times and other instructions for his visit in 1938.
Image is the property of Morgan State University's Beulah M. Davis Special Collections Department, Ellen Irene Diggs Collection, Series E W.E.B. DuBois Correspondence and Writings Box 14-9
