LibGuides: Food and Nutrition: Database Resources

Databases

Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides managers and clinical researchers in industries such as biotechnology, pharmaceutical technologies, medical device manufacturing, biogenetics and public health with full-text access to the most important journals in the biomedical field. Developed for users of major medical indexes, Biomedical Reference Collection: Corporate Edition contains full-text journals covering a variety of disciplines ranging from biomedicine and health sciences to the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Many journals are available in native (searchable) PDF format.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Large range of consumer health information/topics. Full text of nearly 300 periodicals such as: Harvard Health Letter, Prevention, Tufts, Johns Hopkins, Vegetarian Times, Women's health Weekly. Also includes a wide range of full text health related pamphlets and reference books, patient education fact sheets from sources such as: People's Medical Society, A.D.A.M., A.A.R.P and Society Publications
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 200 journals, and full text coverage of over 100 journals, 500+ pamphlets, and selected health-related articles from an additional 1,500 general interest magazines. Also includes full text of six medical reference books and more than 1,800 medical topic overviews from 'Clinical Reference Systems.

Journals

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the world's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals founded in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1917, by a visionary group of women dedicated to helping the government conserve food and improve the public's health and nutrition during World War I. Today, the Academy has over 100,000 credentialed practitioners — registered dietitian nutritionists, dietetic technicians, registered, and other dietetics professionals holding undergraduate and advanced degrees in nutrition and dietetics, and students — and is committed to improving the nation's health and advancing the profession of dietetics through research, education and advocacy.

Members of the Academy play a key role in shaping the public's food choices, thereby improving its nutritional status, and in treating persons with illnesses or injuries. Members offer preventive and medical nutrition therapy services in a variety of settings.

Dietetics practitioners work in health care systems, home health care, foodservice, business, research and educational organizations, as well as in private practice. As vital members of medical teams in hospitals, long-term care facilities and health maintenance organizations, they provide medical nutrition therapy — using specific nutrition services to treat chronic conditions, illnesses or injuries. Community-based dietetics practitioners provide health promotion, disease prevention and wellness services.

As a leader in food and nutrition issues, the Academy provides expert testimony at hearings, lobbies Congress and other governmental bodies, comments on proposed federal and state regulations, and develops position statements on critical food and nutrition issues.

Choose a Topic

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.