LibGuides: GIS for Social Sciences: Data

Overview

These links connect you with spatial data like census tracts and political boundaries and a wide range of sociological attribute data like demographics, economics and more.

U. S. Federal Government Resources

Links to datasets produced by Federal Agencies

Maryland and Local Resources

Links to data generated and/or collected by the Maryland State government and the City of Baltimore.

Other Data Sources

Links to data sources collected and curated by universities, and NGOs.

U.S. Federal Government Resources

American FactFinder

American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.

data.gov

Browse data sets by topic, or search the data catalog. You can limit your results to geospatial data sets. Federal and non-federal (state, county, municipal, etc.) data sources are available.

FBI Crime Statistics - Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Data Online

The FBI has gathered crime statistics from law enforcement agencies across the nation that have voluntarily participated in the since 1930. These data have been published each year, and since 1958, have been available in the publication Crime in the United States (CIUS). As a supplement to CIUS, the FBI, in cooperation with the Bureau of Justice Statistics, provides this site that allows users to build their own customized data tables. The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program collects statistics on violent crime (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault) and property crime (burglary, larceny-theft, and motor vehicle theft).
Features: Tables, Exportable into Excel; details on methods and how to use the database. By using the table-building tool, users can specify offenses, locality (city, county, state), and year(s).

FRED

FRED compiles macro data from a variety of government and other sources. FRED is a database of over 383,000 economic time series from 82 sources. St. Louis Fed provides even more historical economic resources.
Features: Charts and graphs, exportable into Excel and text files.

Historical Statistics of the United States

A compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.

Global Change Master Directory via NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

An assortment of survey and other data gathered from around the world

Maryland and Local Resources

Maryland OpenData Main portal for Statewide data on a wide range of themes.

MD iMap Main portal for state wide spatial data on a wide range of themes.

Baltimore Open City GIS Data is Baltimore's public platform for exploring and downloading open data, discovering and building apps, and engaging to solve important local issues. Analyze and combine Open Datasets using maps, as well as develop new web and mobile applications.

Other Data Sources

ICPSR via University of Michigan

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research is An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, providing data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. The ICPSR maintains an archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Harvard Dataverse

Housed at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard. Claims to host the world's largest collection of social science research. It holds data from many researchers and institutions in addition to Harvard.

Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)

The Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) is an extensive health and social science resource that consists of nine topically focused data archives. The data studies in each archive are suitable for use with statistical software and each consists of one or more data files, related documentation, and SAS and SPSS program statement files.
Features: Extensive datasets available to download.

Migration Data Hub

International & U.S. immigration statistics from the Migration Policy Institute, independent think tank in Washington, DC.
Features: Export charts in CSV (comma-separated value) and maps as images, PDFs, or Tableau workbooks.

Statista

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. This will link to statistics, but not downloadable datasets, You might be able to follow the sources to the data providers.