Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Coronavirus Updates: Click here for the status of library operations and how to access resources & services remotely

Bear Athletics Library Guide: Finding Articles

What is a Database?

You can locate articles and images for your research in the UI Library's databases. Databases are organized collections of electronic data that connect information into understandable relationships.

The type of information in databases varies, but the basic structure is the same.

What is Peer Review?

Scholarly articles go through a peer-review process where they are analyzed by experts in a field before publication.

  • articles are examined to evaluate the quality of research
  • reviewers decide if the article adds to the content of the field

Articles can be scholarly (written and published for an academic audience), yet not go through the peer-review process.

Suggested Article Databases

Search these databases to find magazine and journal articles and more. The ones listed are often useful for research, though many more subject-focused databases are available from the library's Articles page. Most databases are provided by subscription through the University of Idaho Library and many of the articles are available in full text.

Ask Us!

Email: libref@uidaho.edu

Text: (208) 449-0841

Need help getting started? Try our
Research Assistance Program

Finding Full Text Articles

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include the "Find It" button to help you find full text through other sources.

When an article in a database does not include full text, click on the "Find It" button. You may be redirected to a different database, to the library's print holdings, or to Interlibrary Loan.If you have problems, ask a librarian for help.

©2018 Morgan State University | 1700 East Cold Spring Lane Baltimore, Maryland 21251 | 443-885-3333 | Privacy | Accessibility