LibGuides: Nursing: Basic Concepts

Nursing Basics

Health Care: Topic Page
Health care refers to services provided by medical professionals aimed at promoting physical and mental welfare, through the prevention, treatment, and management of illness
Medicine: Topic Page
Modern medicine emerged in the nineteenth century, when the development of the germ theory of disease, the discovery of anesthesia to control the pain of surgery, and improved sanitation began to curb the horrors of infectious diseases.
Nursing: Topic Page
Nurses are the largest single group of staff working in the health service.
Public Health: Topic Page
Field of medicine and hygiene dealing with the prevention of disease and the promotion of health by government agencies
Nursing ethics: Topic Page
Nursing is a discipline that is critical to the health and welfare of all nations and the backbone of any health care system. Without a sufficient supply of nurses to care for the public’s needs, the public’s health is at risk.
Vital Signs: Topic Page
Vital signs, by definition, are a person’s temperature, pulse, respiration rate, and blood pressure (BP). These signs reflect the status of a person’s circulatory, respiratory, neurological, and endocrine functions.
Hospital: Topic Page
Hospitals are the centerpiece of U.S. healthcare. Hospitals are multipurpose healthcare institutions. They provide a place for physicians and other clinicians to treat patients, for special diagnostic and treatment services, and for emergency care services.
Nursing Homes: Topic Page
The nursing home industry remains an important part of the health care continuum, providing housing and health care services to more than 1.5 million older adults in the United States

Medical and Nursing Organisations

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
Founded in 1969, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for baccalaureate and higher degree programs in nursing.
American Nurses Association (ANA)
"The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the premier organization representing the interests of the nation's 4 million registered nurses. ANA is at the forefront of improving the quality of health care for all. Founded in 1896, and with members in all 50 states and U.S. territories, ANA is the strongest voice for the profession."
National Institute of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the primary agency of the United States government responsible for biomedical and public health research. It was founded in 1887 and is now part of the United States Department of Health and Human Services.
Nursing Organizations Alliance
"NOA is the premier collaborative community convening leaders of professional nursing organizations to address common interests and achieve shared goals."

Nursing and Medical Specialties

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
From Nursing leadership Advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs) are registered nurses (RNs) with advanced educational and clinical preparation. APRNs include clinical nurse specialists (CNSs), certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), certified nurse–midwives (CNMs), and nurse practitioners (NPs)
Emergency Nursing
From Encyclopedia of nursing research As a specialty within the nursing profession, emergency nursing encompasses care of individuals across the life span, seeking help for perceived or actual physical or emotional alterations of health that require emergent or nonemergent interventions
Midwife
From Webster's new world Medical Dictionary
A trained person who assists women during childbirth. Many midwives also provide prenatal care for pregnant women, birth education for women and their partners, and care for mothers and newborn babies after the birth.
Nurse Anesthetist
From The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and Allied Health
Nurse anesthetists, or certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs), are advanced practice registered nurses with specialized graduate level education, training, and certification in anesthesiology.
Nurse Practitioner
From Encyclopedia of Women's Health Broadly defined, an NP is an advanced practice registered nurse who has attained a formal NP education, primarily at the master's degree level.
Physician Assistant
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Health-care professional who provides patient services ranging from taking medical histories and doing physical examinations to performing minor surgical procedures
Registered Nurse
From Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Registered nurses, or RNs, are health care professionals who work as part of health care teams to promote health and prevent and treat disease.
Geriatrics: Topic Page
The branch of medicine concerned with conditions and diseases of the aged.
Palliative Care
From Encyclopedia of nursing research The goal of palliative care is to prevent and relieve suffering and to support the best possible quality of life for patients and their families, regardless of the stage of the disease or the need for other therapies.

APA 7th Ed.

APA stands for American Psychology Association, which publishes and maintains this style. We are currently in the 7th edition of APA, so you may here it referenced as APA7 or APA 7th Ed. APA is (somewhat predictably) used heavily in Psychology research, but it also is an extremely common format for social science subjects and some humanities.

APA Style Guide
An overview of APA7 by Purdue Online Writing Lab.

APA Quick Reference:

Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Nursing: Basic Concepts

Overview

Nursing Basics

Medical and Nursing Organisations

Nursing and Medical Specialties

APA 7th Ed.