LibGuides: Architecture and Planning Guide: Finding Articles

Search Library Databases

Use the search box on the library website to search Morgan's databases for articles:

Helpful Research Port Databases

Sometimes you'll get too many results when using the single search box. To narrow it down, check out some specific databases that have architecture materials:

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Environment Complete
Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

General Databases

These databases contain information about a variety of topics, including architecture and design:

Credo Reference
Online versions of 500+ published reference works from over 70 publishers, including general and specialist dictionaries and encyclopedias. A great place to begin your research.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of many peer-reviewed and full-text resources that includes journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos in almost every subject area.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
This database is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.
Nexis Uni
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
OmniFile Full Text Mega covers core subjects, including applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology. Full text of articles from over 3,100 publications dating back to 1994. Indexing and abstracts from nearly 5,100 publications.
Research Library
Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

News Databases

You can find news and current events articles about almost any topic. Try the databases below:

Baltimore Sun
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper. Coverage of national, international and local news. The Sun, Baltimore provides the most comprehensive news coverage for Maryland.

For older editions, please consult the Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun database.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Nexis Uni
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.
New York Times
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper, the New York Times Book Review, and the New York Times Magazine. Full-text: January, 1999--present

For editions prior to 1999, please consult the Historical Newspapers: New York Times database.
Wall Street Journal
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper, a financial newspaper with in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as political news. Full-text: January, 1984--present

For editions prior to 1984, please consult the Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal database.
Washington Post
Coverage of national, international and local news. The Washington Post is renowned for its political reporting, editorials, and columnists. Indexing, Abstracting, and Full-text: 1/1/87-

For editions prior to 1987, please consult the Historical Newspapers: Washington Post database.

DOAJ: Journals

Places: Forum of Design for the Public Realm

Keywords: design, landscape architecture, towns, urbanism
Start year: 1983

An interdisciplinary journal of contemporary architecture, landscape and urbanism, with particular emphasis on the public realm as physical place and social ideal.

Archnet-IJAR: International Journal of Architectural Research

Keywords: architecture, planning, built environment
Start year: 2007

An interdisciplinary scholarly online publication of architecture, planning, and built environment studies. The journal aims at establishing a bridge between theory and practice in the fields of architectural and design research, and urban planning and built environment studies.

field: A Free Journal for Architecture

Keywords: architecture, architectural discourse, design practice, design history
Start year: 2007

A free journal for the discussion of critical, theoretical, political and playful perspectives on all aspects of architecture.